The CloverLeaf Bed & Breakfast, A Victorian Repose
History
Rooms & Rates
Location
Reservations

HISTORY

The home that is now The CloverLeaf Bed & Breakfast was built by William Vander Linden in 1892 with both Dutch and Victorian architectural elements.

Vander Linden came to the America at the age of four in 1847 with the Holland Colony. After marrying in 1867, he fathered nine children and began a slew of successful businesses in Pella. At the time the home was built, he was president of the Security Bank in Pella. When he died in 1903, the home passed to his family.

In May or June of 1906, Hendrik and Johanna Lubbers left their home in the Netherlands and settled in Pella, Iowa with three young children, Katherine, Martin and Grace, who was only about six weeks old. In America, the Lubbers eventually had three more children — Klassina, Andrew and Gerard — bringing the total to six.

Within one to two years, Mr. Lubbers purchased some dairy cows and began selling milk. As his modest business grew, he began to make home deliveries by horse and a two-wheel cart. Thus began a dairy business that would span three generations.

In the late 1920's, the the Lubbers' purchased the home, which included an expanse of land to the north and east. At the rear of the home, some still remember the vast and beautiful flower and vegetable gardens. The land to the east of the home became the Cloverleaf Dairy. Behind the dairy, they built a stable to house their milk wagons and beloved draft horse, Douglas.

Over the years, the Lubbers children as well as some distant relatives shared responsibilities in the management of the Cloverleaf Dairy, and they also expanded their enterprise through an increase in land and livestock. Eventually, the Cloverleaf Dairy was renamed to Lubbers Dairy, and the horse stable was torn down to build a modern truck garage. William Huyser later purchased the dairy facility at the home site. Soon after, Andrew and Andrew Jr. established a new location for Lubbers Dairy, offering over-the-counter sales and bulk delivery. Lubbers Dairy was owned and operated at that location by Hendrik's grandson, Andrew Jr., until his passing in 1999.

As the home changed hands, it fell into disrepair until present owners and innkeepers Bill and Florence Slycord saved it from demolition in 1991 and lovingly restored it to its present condition. They preserved the Cloverleaf name but capitalized the second "L" to distinguish the inn from the dairy. They also preserved all but two of the original fixtures and all the woodwork, including floors, staircase, trim and cabinetry.

Today, you will find the home furnished exclusively with fine antiques and decorated with period-inspired flourishes. It is truly a unique, old-fashioned and tranquil experience in a world of copies ... a respite from today's fast-paced world!

More information about the Lubbers family is available for guests to peruse in the home.